Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Hudson County Community College · School of Business, Culinary Arts, and Hospitality Management

Accounting

AssociateASDedicated degreeOn campusOnline

Overview

A two-year transfer-oriented Associate of Science in Accounting offered in a campus version and a fully online version. Major requirements include principles, intermediate and computerized accounting, business law and economics.

Official program name
Accounting
Awarded degree
A.S. in Accounting · major: Accounting
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Associate
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Associate track
Transfer-oriented associate degreeThe college describes the degree as designed to transfer toward a bachelor's degree. Which credits a receiving school accepts is that school's decision.
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Hudson County Community College — School of Business, Culinary Arts, and Hospitality Management
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Jersey City, NJFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Why this program is listed

Dedicated A.S. in Accounting with a campus page and a separate fully online page.

Degree title is Accounting A.S.; the major requirements are accounting courses.

Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus · Online
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Not verified
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Major requirements include Principles of Accounting I and II, Computerized Accounting and Intermediate Accounting I and II, with Federal Taxation I or Marketing as a choice.
    Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Transfer pathways

  • The page says most students transfer to neighboring colleges, in particular Rutgers, and that articulation agreements exist with several colleges.
    Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Articulation agreements exist with several colleges, some with on-site local advisors.
    Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. States that a four-year degree is needed to sit for the CPA exam and describes the program as designed to give the first two years of a four-year accounting degreeConditions stated: Program is the first two years; the four-year degree is completed elsewhereSource: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. Describes the program as designed for students seeking a four-year accounting degree that meets eligibility requirements for the CPA or CMA examSource: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — In-county resident, per credit (1-credit row of the 2026-2027 estimate table)From the school-wide rate table for this level$197per credit · 2026-2027Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — Non-resident (out of county), per credit (1-credit row of the 2026-2027 estimate table)From the school-wide rate table for this level$376per credit · 2026-2027Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other published fees

Student life fee
$11.26 per creditMandatory
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Technology fee
$35.99 per creditMandatory
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
General service fee
$43.30 per creditMandatory
Source: hccc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

No business-school accreditation (AACSB, ACBSP, IACBE) is on record for this school. Accreditation is optional and its absence is not a sign of poor quality.

Supplemental accounting accreditation

No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside New Jersey.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Format: Fully online
Location: Melbourne, FLSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Duration not verified · 64 credits
Tuition: $572.92 per credit · All students — Per credit hour
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: IACBE
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Strayer University-Florida

Associate in Arts in Accounting

AssociateAADedicated degreeAssociate in Arts
Format: Online
Location: Tampa, FLSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: 20 courses, each 11 weeks long (number of courses printed; time depends on courses per term and transfer credit)
Tuition: $1,555 per course · All students — Tuition per course
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: MSCHE
Subjects: Accounting
View program
Davenport University logo

Davenport University

Associate of Business Administration - Accounting

AssociateABADedicated degreeAssociate of Business Administration
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Grand Rapids, MISchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 64 credits
Tuition: $1,059 per credit · All students — Undergraduate in-seat tuition
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: IACBE
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Hudson County Community College. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.