Saint Michael's College · School of Business & Analytics
Bachelor of Science in Accounting
Overview
A Bachelor of Science in Accounting in the School of Business & Analytics, described as integrating financial reporting, managerial decision-making and controls. The required courses culminate in a research-based seminar. The college minimum for a bachelor's degree is 128 credit hours.
- Official program name
- Bachelor of Science in Accounting
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Science in Accounting · major: AccountingSource: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- Subject focus
- Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).Source: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- School
- Source: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Location
- Colchester, VTSource: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Subjects
- Accounting — core of the degree
- Required credits
- College minimum of 128 credit hours for a bachelor's degree; the credits of the accounting major itself were not retrievableSource: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
Entry pathway
Not verified whether this degree admits first-year students or only applicants with prior credits.
Why this program is listed
Dedicated BS in Accounting at the residential Colchester campus; the major course list could not be read (script-rendered catalog page).
The catalog program title is Bachelor of Science in Accounting (program type: major).
Source: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campusSource: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
Curriculum
Capstone
- The required accounting courses build on one another and culminate in a research-based seminar.Source: smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
CPA-related information
- Not specified. States that CPA licensure will require a bachelor's degree and 150 academic credits in some statesConditions stated: varies by stateSource: smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Not specified. States the accounting major curriculum can be readily augmented by existing courses to meet content specificationsConditions stated: specific courses within the 150 hours vary among statesSource: smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements
Other professional recognition
Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.
Admissions
- Statement / essay
- RequiredApplication essay required for undergraduate admission.Source: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Tests
- SAT / ACT
- OptionalTest-optional; scores may be submitted if the applicant chooses.Source: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Full-time undergraduate tuition, per academic yearFrom the school-wide rate table for this level | $49,950 | per academic yearSource: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Full-time undergraduate comprehensive fee, per academic year
- $2,950 per academic yearSource: catalog.smcvt.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Scholarships and funding
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation
Institutional accreditation
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Business-school accreditation
No business-school accreditation (AACSB, ACBSP, IACBE) is on record for this school. Accreditation is optional and its absence is not a sign of poor quality.
Supplemental accounting accreditation
No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.
Sources and verification
- catalog.smcvt.edu/programs/posOsHoLsY7JzZbvnsOh — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
- catalog.smcvt.edu/undergraduate/admission — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
- catalog.smcvt.edu/undergraduate/degree-requirements — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
- catalog.smcvt.edu/undergraduate/tuition-fees — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
- DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- smcvt.edu/academics/majors-minors-and-curriculum/accounting/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Saint Michael's College. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.