Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Texas State University · Department of Accounting, McCoy College of Business

Master of Science in Accounting and Information Technology

Master'sMSDedicated degreeOn campusHybridAccounting graduatesAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A 30-hour MS in Accounting and Information Technology, STEM-designated, with a San Marcos campus option and a hybrid listing described as more than 50% online.

Official program name
Master of Science in Accounting and Information Technology
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Accounting and Information Technology · major: Accounting and Information Technology
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: accounting.mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
For graduates with an accounting backgroundThe program expects a prior accounting degree or the accounting prerequisite courses already completed.
Source: accounting.mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
San Marcos, TX
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting Information Systems — core of the degree (“Accounting and Information Technology”)Accounting — core of the degree
Required credits
30-hour program
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
one year for full-time students
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MS combining accounting and information technology, offered in San Marcos with a hybrid listing.

Degree title names accounting; interdisciplinary accounting and information technology curriculum.

Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus · Hybrid
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Required courses include Accounting Data Analytics, Corporate Governance and Ethics, Business Entity Taxation, Database Management Systems and Information Security (15 hours).
    Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Background courses (e.g., Intermediate Accounting I and II, Survey of Income Tax, Auditing and Internal Controls) if needed; they do not count toward the total.
    Source: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. States the 30-hour program can be used to meet the education requirements for the CPA licenseSource: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Estimated total program cost, resident (tuition and fees, 30 hours)$19,757entire program · Fall 2025 ratesIncludes feesSource: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — Estimated total program cost, non-resident (tuition and fees, 30 hours)$31,907entire program · Fall 2025 ratesIncludes feesSource: mccoy.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: McCoy College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Department of Accounting, McCoy College of BusinessScope: Applies to the overall McCoy College of Business and specifically the Department of Accounting, as stated by the universityStated by the school; not yet confirmed in the accreditor's directory.Source: distancelearning.txst.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: McCoy College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. accounting.mccoy.txst.edu/degrees-programs.html — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  4. distancelearning.txst.edu/hybrid-grad-degree-programs/master-of-science-in-accounting-and-informatio — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. mccoy.txst.edu/graduate/accounting-information-technology.html — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  6. mccoy.txst.edu/graduate/accounting-information-technology/courses.html — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
  7. mccoy.txst.edu/graduate/admissions/costs.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Suffolk University logo

Suffolk University

Master of Science in Accounting (MSA)

Master'sMSADedicated degreeMaster of Science in Accounting
Format: Campus · Online · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Boston, MASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Full-time in as few as 9 months; part-time in as few as 21 months (conditional minimum as printed (as few as)) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: NECHEBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Accounting Information Systems · Taxation
View program

University of Kansas

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus · Full-time
Location: Lawrence, KS
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Auditing and Assurance · Accounting Information Systems
View program

University of Kentucky

Master of Science in Accounting

Master'sMSDedicated degreeOpen entry
Format: Campus
Location: Lexington, KY
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: 10 months for accounting majors; 14 months for non-accounting majors (accounting majors 10 months; non-accounting majors 14 months, after the Bridge Program sequence) · 30 credits
Tuition: $26,268 per academic year · In-state — Full-time per year, resident (as printed; year not stated)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Accounting Information Systems
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Texas State University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.