Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

College of Western Idaho · Business (School of Social Sciences and Public Affairs)

Bookkeeping and Accounting

AssociateAASDedicated degreeOn campusOnline

Overview

Associate of Applied Science in Bookkeeping and Accounting at College of Western Idaho. The catalog lists a 61-credit minimum, and CWI states that all requirements may be completed fully online.

Official program name
Bookkeeping and Accounting
Awarded degree
Associate of Applied Science · major: Bookkeeping and Accounting
Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Associate
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
College of Western Idaho — Business (School of Social Sciences and Public Affairs)
Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Nampa, IDFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Bookkeeping and Accounting”)
Required credits
Minimum Credit Hours Required 61
Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
2 years
Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Associate of Applied Science in Bookkeeping and Accounting with required accounting, tax and payroll courses, available fully online.

The degree program is titled Bookkeeping and Accounting; required courses include income tax, accounting concepts, computerized accounting, payroll and an accounting capstone.

Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus · Online
Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Not verified
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Required major courses include Fundamental Accounting Concepts, Payroll and Human Resource Issues, Professional Bookkeeping, Income Tax Fundamentals and Business Law.
    Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Capstone

  • The degree plan includes a capstone, either Bookkeeping and Accounting Capstone or Foundations of the Accounting Profession.
    Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Internship

  • A 1-credit requirement can be met with Volunteer Income Tax Assistance, an Accounting Internship or a Bookkeeping and Accounting Internship.
    Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Transfer pathways

  • The catalog directs students who plan a four-year accounting degree to the Business AA requirements.
    Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.

CPA-related statements for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.
  • Other professional recognition. The program page says it offers a path to the Certified Bookkeeper credential from the American Institute of Professional Bookkeepers and the chance to earn QuickBooks and Microsoft Office Specialist certifications.Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Lower-division, in-district Idaho residentFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$172per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$10,492 = 61 credits × $172 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
In-state — Lower-division, out-of-district Idaho resident ($172 plus $50 per credit, up to $500 per semester)From the school-wide rate table for this level$172per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$10,492 = 61 credits × $172 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — Lower-division, non-resident / internationalFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$336per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$20,496 = 61 credits × $336 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026
All students — Program page cost listing for the AAS (additional cost may apply; basis and year not stated)$11,047(basis not stated by the institution)Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other published fees

Instructional Support Service Fee (six or more credits)
$55 per semesterMandatory
Source: cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

No business-school accreditation (AACSB, ACBSP, IACBE) is on record for this school. Accreditation is optional and its absence is not a sign of poor quality.

Supplemental accounting accreditation

No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Idaho.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

  • Courses required for this program may carry additional special course fees.
    Source: catalog.cwi.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. catalog.cwi.edu/programs-study/bookkeeping-and-accounting/bookkeeping-and-accounting-aas/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
  2. cwi.edu/admissions/cost-aid/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026
  3. cwi.edu/program/bookkeeping-and-accounting — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Format: Fully online
Location: Melbourne, FLSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Duration not verified · 64 credits
Tuition: $572.92 per credit · All students — Per credit hour
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: IACBE
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Strayer University-Florida

Associate in Arts in Accounting

AssociateAADedicated degreeAssociate in Arts
Format: Online
Location: Tampa, FLSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: 20 courses, each 11 weeks long (number of courses printed; time depends on courses per term and transfer credit)
Tuition: $1,555 per course · All students — Tuition per course
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: MSCHE
Subjects: Accounting
View program
Davenport University logo

Davenport University

Associate of Business Administration - Accounting

AssociateABADedicated degreeAssociate of Business Administration
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Grand Rapids, MISchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 64 credits
Tuition: $1,059 per credit · All students — Undergraduate in-seat tuition
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: IACBE
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with College of Western Idaho. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.