Grand Canyon University · Colangelo College of Business
Master of Science in Accounting
Overview
A 34-credit Master of Science in Accounting for students who hold a BS in Accounting, offered in evening and online settings with three CPA-exam-oriented capstone courses.
- Official program name
- Master of Science in Accounting
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science in Accounting · major: AccountingSource: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Subject focus
- Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Entry route
- For graduates with an accounting backgroundThe program expects a prior accounting degree or the accounting prerequisite courses already completed.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- School
- Grand Canyon University — Colangelo College of BusinessSource: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Location
- Phoenix, AZFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
- Subjects
- Accounting — core of the degree
- Required credits
- 34 creditsSource: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
Why this program is listed
Dedicated MSA offered in evening and online class settings.
Degree title names accounting; coursework in auditing, taxation, analytics, financial reporting and CPA-focused capstones.
Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campus · OnlineSource: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Online delivery
- Online delivery type not verified
- Campus visits (online option)
- Campus visits: not verified
- Class schedule (online option)
- Not verified
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.
Curriculum
Capstone
- Three capstone courses aimed at CPA exam content (Accounting and Data Analytics Core; Audit and Accounting Information Systems Core; Tax Core).Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Transfer pathways
- Up to 12 credits or one third of program requirements in transfer, whichever is less.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
CPA-related information
- Not specified. Describes the program as helping prepare graduates for the CPA examConditions stated: Eligibility varies by state requirements and undergraduate courseworkSource: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Not specified. States a master's in accounting is not always required for CPA exam eligibility if sufficient accounting credits were earned in the bachelor'sConditions stated: Eligibility varies by state requirements and undergraduate courseworkSource: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements
Other professional recognition
Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredUndergraduate degree from an accredited college or program approved by GCU.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 2.8 — 2.8+ GPA, or 2.5+ unweighted GPA with GMAT 500 or GRE 300 combined.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Tests
- GMAT
- Optional — minimum 500GMAT 500 or GRE 300 combined required only with a 2.5-2.79 GPA.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — Online | $675 | per creditCalculated tuition$22,950 = 34 credits × $675 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026 |
| All students — Evening | $675 | per creditCalculated tuition$22,950 = 34 credits × $675 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026 |
Scholarships and funding
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Business-school accreditation
- ACBSP — accreditedUnit: Master of Science in AccountingScope: Programmatic accreditation of the MSAStated by the school; not yet confirmed in the accreditor's directory.Source: gcu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Supplemental accounting accreditation
No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.
State authorization (online students)
Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.
International applicants
Not verified for the online option.
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- gcu.edu/degree-programs/master-science-accounting-msa — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Master of Professional Accountancy
Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Grand Canyon University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.