Skip to content
AccountingDegrees
Hofstra University logo

Hofstra University · Department of Accounting

MS in Accounting

Master'sMSDedicated degreeHybridAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A 30-credit MS in Accounting at Hofstra University, offered in a hybrid format with fall and spring starts and rolling deadlines.

Official program name
MS in Accounting
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Accounting · major: Accounting
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Hempstead, NY
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree
Required credits
30
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
16-24 months (full-time); 2-5 years (part-time) (full-time and part-time ranges as printed)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MS in Accounting (degree title names accounting), 30 credits, format printed as Hybrid. Entry route is not printed on the page and is left unset.

Degree title names accounting; page lists specialized areas including forensic accounting, analytics and tax planning.

Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
Hybrid
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Other

  • The page notes the program is STEM-designated for international students.
    Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. States an advanced degree may reduce CPA experience requirements by one year in some states and allow more exam prep timeSource: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
WaivedMinimum 3.2 — GMAT/GRE not required with a 3.2 GPA
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
WaivedNot required with 3.2 GPA (GMAT/GRE)
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Other test
WaivedGRE not required with 3.2 GPA
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall; Spring

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate, Zarb School of Business courses (200-level and above)From the school-wide rate table for this level$1,868per credit · 2026-2027Calculated tuition$56,040 = 30 credits × $1,868 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other published fees

University fee, graduate students registering for 12 or more credits
$392 per term
Source: hofstra.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: Frank G. Zarb School of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Frank G. Zarb School of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  3. hofstra.edu/academics/colleges-and-schools/business/department-of-accounting/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. hofstra.edu/accounting-taxation-legal-studies/ms-accounting.html — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. hofstra.edu/campus-life/student-services-here-to-help/student-financial-services/bursar/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Hofstra University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.