Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Iowa State University · Department of Accounting

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOn campusAccounting graduatesAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A 30-credit, in-person Master of Accounting in Ames with CPA and CMA tracks and four specializations; the page also describes a concurrent option for ACCT undergraduates.

Official program name
Master of Accounting
Awarded degree
Master of Accounting · major: Accounting
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
For graduates with an accounting backgroundThe program expects a prior accounting degree or the accounting prerequisite courses already completed.
Source: grad-college.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Iowa State University — Department of Accounting
Source: catalog.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Ames, IA
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Master of Accounting”)Taxation — formal concentration / track (“Tax specialization”)Accounting Information Systems — formal concentration / track (“Information Systems and Analytics specialization”)Managerial and Management Accounting — formal concentration / track (“Managerial Decision Making specialization”)
Tracks / concentrations
Financial Reporting & Assurance · Information Systems and Analytics · Managerial Decision Making · Tax
Source: grad-college.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Required credits
30 credits, non-thesis
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
2 semesters
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated in-person Master of Accounting.

Degree title names accounting; CPA and CMA tracks with accounting specializations.

Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Concurrent ACCT-MACC option: undergraduate accounting majors can finish both degrees in five years; students apply the semester before graduate coursework begins.
    Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other

  • Study abroad option in France (four-week, six-credit option in Paris in the catalog).
    Source: catalog.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Iowa. States the MAcc is an efficient way to meet the education requirement for CPA certification in Iowa; the program prepares students for the CPA or CMA examConditions stated: Iowa offers a master's degree pathway as printed in the catalogSource: catalog.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. States the program allows accounting majors to pursue the additional hours needed to meet the 150 hour requirement in most statesConditions stated: Most statesSource: grad-college.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Prerequisite courses
Not verifiedApplicants without a business degree may still be eligible; contact the advisor
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredThree essays
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial college transcripts
Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Fall semester: June 15; Spring semester: November 15; Summer semester: March 15 (domestic students only) · for Fall, Spring, Summer (year not printed)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Iowa residents$2,604per courseSource: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — Non-residents$5,808per courseSource: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026
International — International students$6,147per courseSource: ivybusiness.iastate.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. catalog.iastate.edu/collegeofbusiness/accounting/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  4. grad-college.iastate.edu/programs/accounting — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. ivybusiness.iastate.edu/academics/graduate-programs/master-of-accounting/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Iowa State University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.