Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Middle Tennessee State University · Department of Accounting

Master of Accountancy

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOn campusOnlineOpen entryAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A 30-credit Master of Accountancy with courses online, on the Murfreesboro campus or both, full-time or part-time, with optional Tax Accounting and Assurance specializations. Applicants without an accounting degree may need prerequisite courses.

Official program name
Master of Accountancy
Awarded degree
Master of Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: accounting.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Murfreesboro, TNFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)Taxation — formal concentration / track (“Tax Accounting Specialization”)Auditing and Assurance — formal concentration / track (“Assurance Specialization”)
Tracks / concentrations
Tax Accounting Specialization · Assurance Specialization
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours: 15 required, 15 electives
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
as little as one year (full-time) (full-time student; up to six years allowed)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Accountancy offered online and on campus in Murfreesboro.

Degree title names accountancy; 15 credit hours of required accounting courses plus electives and optional specializations.

Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus · Online
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Online delivery type not verified
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Not verified
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • The curriculum includes a capstone course that must be passed with a grade of B- or higher.
    Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Accepted students without a previous accounting degree may need up to 15 hours of prerequisite courses in addition to the required courses and electives.
    Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other

  • Not all elective courses are available online and not all online courses are offered every semester.
    Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Tennessee. States that completing both the BBA and the MAcc qualifies a student to be a CPA in TennesseeConditions stated: Student must also pass the CPA exam, have one year of experience and pass the ethics examSource: accounting.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. Describes the program as offering CPA prep elective courses that count for creditSource: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Prerequisite courses
OptionalApplicants without accounting courses take prerequisite courses; they can apply and enter the program before completing them.
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree from an accredited institution; accounting degree not required.
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GMAT waiver requires an accounting degree from an AACSB-accredited institution and a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher; other routes use GPA plus GMAT composite scores.
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Waived — minimum 400Waived with an AACSB-accredited accounting degree and a 3.0 cumulative GPA; otherwise a minimum GMAT of 400 within a composite score of at least 950 (cumulative GPA x 200 + GMAT) or 1,000 (upper division GPA x 200 + GMAT).
Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 5, 2027 · for Spring 2027

    Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: Jennings A. Jones College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Jennings A. Jones College of BusinessScope: accounting and businessStated by the school; not yet confirmed in the accreditor's directory.Source: w1.mtsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Jennings A. Jones College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Tennessee.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 27, 2026.
  1. accounting.mtsu.edu/why-mtsu/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. w1.mtsu.edu/master-of-accountancy/about/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. w1.mtsu.edu/master-of-accountancy/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. w1.mtsu.edu/master-of-accountancy/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  6. w1.mtsu.edu/master-of-accountancy/program-acc — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  7. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Middle Tennessee State University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.