Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Minnesota State University-Mankato

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOnlineOpen entry

Overview

A 30-credit Master of Accounting at Minnesota State University, Mankato, offered online with a 12-month time to completion; applicants without an accounting degree complete prerequisite accounting courses after conditional acceptance.

Official program name
Master of Accounting
Awarded degree
Master of Accounting · major: Accounting
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: cob.mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Location
Mankato, MNFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree
Required credits
Total Credits 30
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
12 months
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Accounting offered fully online.

Degree title names accounting; required courses cover accounting theory, external auditing and federal income tax.

Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
Online
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Restricted electives of 20 credits include governmental and nonprofit accounting and fraud examination courses.
    Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Applicants without an accounting undergraduate degree complete equivalent undergraduate accounting courses before beginning MAcc coursework; MBA 630 is taken during MAcc coursework.
    Source: cob.mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Multiple jurisdictions as published. Licensure disclosure lists states and territories whose certification/licensure requirements the program meets, for students entering with an undergraduate accounting degree; a shorter list applies to students entering through the Pre-MAcc PathwayConditions stated: Depends on entry route (accounting undergraduate degree vs Pre-MAcc Pathway)Source: cob.mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. Describes the program as offering the credit hours needed for CPA certificationSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Prerequisite courses
RequiredNon-accounting undergraduates complete Intermediate Financial Accounting 1 and 2, Individual Income Tax, Business Income Tax and Assurance Services (Auditing) before MAcc coursework.
Source: cob.mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited university.
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume.
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Recommended — minimum 500Page says a GMAT score of 500 or above is generally required, waived for applicants meeting stated criteria; contact the MAcc director before taking it.
Source: cob.mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80International applicants: TOEFL iBT 80, IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 110 with minimum speaking and writing 105.
Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall start

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring start

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Master of Accounting (MAcc), Minnesota residentFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$16,874per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — Master of Accounting (MAcc), non-Minnesota residentFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$16,874per academic year · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Minnesota.

International applicants

  • The Master of Accounting is offered exclusively online and is not eligible for I-20 issuance.Source: mnsu.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. cob.mnsu.edu/academics/accounting/master-of-accounting/application--program-requirements/non-account — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  2. cob.mnsu.edu/academics/accounting/master-of-accounting/professional-certificationlicensure-disclosur — Official disclosure page, verified October 30, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  5. mnsu.edu/academic-catalog/graduate/accounting-macc/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
  6. mnsu.edu/paying-for-college/cost-of-attendance/graduate-student-cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026
  7. mnsu.edu/programs/accounting/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  8. mnsu.edu/programs/accounting/master-of-accounting/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Minnesota State University-Mankato. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.