Saint Louis University · Richard A. Chaifetz School of Business
Accounting, M.Acc.
Overview
A 30-credit Master of Accounting from the Chaifetz School of Business with on-campus classes, including 15 credits of graduate accounting courses and business electives chosen with the program director.
- Official program name
- Accounting, M.Acc.
- Awarded degree
- Master of Accounting · major: AccountingSource: slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Subject focus
- Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Entry route
- For graduates with an accounting backgroundThe program expects a prior accounting degree or the accounting prerequisite courses already completed.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- School
- Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Location
- Saint Louis, MO
- Subjects
- Accounting — core of the degree
- Tracks / concentrations
- Business analysis and reporting (STEM-certified)Source: slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Required credits
- 30 credits of advanced coursework with 15 credits in graduate accounting coursesSource: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Duration
- As short as 9 months (2026)Source: slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed
Dedicated Master of Accounting; program page lists on-campus classes.
Degree title names accounting; the program offers expertise in general accounting, taxation and auditing.
Source: slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campusSource: slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Internship
- Optional internshipSource: slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Study intensity
- Not verified
Curriculum
Internship
- Graduate accounting students may take a two-week study abroad trip to SLU-Madrid.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
CPA-related information
- Not specified. States that graduates from this program may take the CPA examSource: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements
Other professional recognition
- Other professional recognition. Beta Alpha Psi chapter at SLU.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.
Admissions
Technical preparation
- Prerequisite courses
- Not verifiedAdditional courses may be required of students without sufficient undergraduate background in accounting.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredProfessional goal statement of fewer than 500 words.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredResume.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredOfficial transcripts.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Tests
- TOEFL iBT
- Required — minimum 88Non-native speakers of English who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents; IELTS of at least 6.5 also listed.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Rolling
Application deadline
Rolling admission · for Not specified
The school does not print a year with this date.
Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — School of Business Master's and Certificate ProgramsFrom the school-wide rate table for this level | $1,390 | per creditCalculated tuition$41,700 = 30 credits × $1,390 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: catalog.slu.edu · verified October 30, 2026 |
Scholarships and funding
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Business-school accreditation
- AACSB — accreditedUnit: Richard A. Chaifetz School of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026
Supplemental accounting accreditation
- AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Richard A. Chaifetz School of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026
Sources and verification
- catalog.slu.edu/colleges-schools/business/accounting/accounting-macc/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
- slu.edu/business/graduate/accounting/index.php — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Master of Professional Accountancy
Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Saint Louis University. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.