Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville · Department of Accounting

Master of Science in Accountancy

Master'sMSADedicated degreeOnlineHybridOpen entryAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A 30-semester-hour Master of Science in Accountancy with seven-week courses, available fully online or as a mix of online and hybrid courses, with taxation and business analytics specializations.

Official program name
Master of Science in Accountancy
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Edwardsville, ILFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)Taxation — formal concentration / track (“Taxation specialization”)Accounting Analytics — formal concentration / track (“Business Analytics specialization”)
Tracks / concentrations
Taxation · Business Analytics
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Required credits
30 semester hours beyond prerequisite courses
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
As little as 12 months (Full-time students with recent undergraduate degrees in accounting complete in one year; students with non-business degrees need two to four years.)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated MS in Accountancy offered online and in hybrid sections.

Degree title names accountancy and the program is offered through the Department of Accounting.

Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
Online · Hybrid
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Optional internship
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

The program page does not say whether the online option requires campus visits. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Students without an undergraduate accounting degree from an AACSB-accredited school may need up to 18 hours of foundation coursework in addition to the 30 graduate hours.
    Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Seven-week courses in a one-evening-per-week hybrid format and an online format without planned meeting times.
    Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Illinois. States that MSA graduates qualify to sit for the CPA exam in IllinoisSource: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. Describes the technical knowledge as a basis for preparation for the CPA, CMA or CIA professional examinationsSource: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Prerequisite courses
RequiredUndergraduate accounting prerequisites (ACCT 200 or 524, 301, 302, 303, 311, 312, 315, 321) with a GPA of 2.7 or better; they carry no credit toward the MSA.
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree completed prior to enrollment
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — Minimum cumulative GPA of 2.50 in undergraduate coursework
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredPersonal history information or a current resume
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Application fee
Required$40 — Graduate School application and $40 fee
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Not verifiedApplicants with a cumulative undergraduate GPA of 2.75 or lower may be required to submit recent GMAT or GRE scores after initial review.
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International applicants; IELTS 6.5 or equivalent also accepted.
Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online MS in Accountancy (in-state and out-of-state same rate)From the school's online tuition table$556.75per creditIncludes feesCalculated tuition$16,702.50 = 30 credits × $556.75 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
All students — Online MS in Accountancy, total tuition for 30 credit hoursFrom the school's online tuition table$16,702.50entire programIncludes feesSource: online.siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: School of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Department of AccountingScope: Department of Accounting holds separate accounting accreditationStated by the school; not yet confirmed in the accreditor's directory.Source: siue.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: School of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Illinois.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. online.siue.edu/degrees/business/ms-accountancy/general-prog/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  4. siue.edu/academics/graduate/degrees-and-programs/msa/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. siue.edu/academics/graduate/degrees-and-programs/msa/admission-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 30, 2026
  6. siue.edu/academics/graduate/degrees-and-programs/msa/curriculum.shtml — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.