Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

University of Georgia · J.M. Tull School of Accounting

Master of Accountancy

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOn campusAccounting graduatesAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A 30-credit-hour in-person Master of Accountancy in Athens with audit, taxation and advisory specializations, for applicants with an accounting degree or the required accounting prerequisite courses.

Official program name
Master of Accountancy
Awarded degree
Master of Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
For graduates with an accounting backgroundThe program expects a prior accounting degree or the accounting prerequisite courses already completed.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Athens, GA
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)Auditing and Assurance — formal concentration / track (“Audit specialization”)Taxation — formal concentration / track (“Taxation specialization”)
Tracks / concentrations
Audit, Taxation and Advisory specializations
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
traditional two-semester path (one year) (traditional path for students who meet the accounting course requirements)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Accountancy offered in person on the Athens campus.

Degree title names accountancy; 18 required accounting hours plus audit, taxation or advisory specialization.

Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • General structure: 18 required hours, 3-9 accounting elective hours and 3-9 elective hours.
    Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Accelerated options

  • Double Dawg BBA/MAcc pathways exist for accounting and non-accounting Terry majors.
    Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. Describes the MAcc as providing time and resources to study for and sit for the CPA exam during the programConditions stated: Page also states that with a MAcc only one year of relevant experience is required for licensureSource: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredStudents must complete a bachelor's degree and the listed accounting prerequisite courses before beginning the program.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredOne-page statement of purpose.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation (two from accounting faculty and one additional).
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 for domestic applicants, $100 for international applicants.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
RequiredRequired unless an exemption applies; the Tull School recommends at least 515; exemption for UGA, BYU and Georgia Tech accounting majors.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
GRE General Test
Not requiredThe program does not accept the GRE in lieu of the GMAT.
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Recommended — minimum 105Suggested minimum for international applicants (IELTS 7.5).
Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    October 15 (year not printed) · for Spring

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — MAcc, in-state (2024/2025 rate as printed)$542per credit · 2024-2025Calculated tuition$16,260 = 30 credits × $542 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — MAcc, out-of-state (2024/2025 rate as printed)$1,226per credit · 2024-2025Calculated tuition$36,780 = 30 credits × $1,226 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: terry.uga.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: Terry College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Terry College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  3. terry.uga.edu/macc/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. terry.uga.edu/macc/admissions/application-process/ — Official admissions page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. terry.uga.edu/macc/program-options/specializations/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  6. terry.uga.edu/macc/program-options/traditional/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  7. terry.uga.edu/master-professional-accounting/curriculum-and-format/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  8. terry.uga.edu/mpacc-vs-macc/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program
Bryant University logo

Bryant University

Master of Science in Accounting

Master'sMSADedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus · Full-time
Location: Smithfield, RI
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: 8 months full time (full time) · 30 credits
Tuition: $3,897 per course · All students — Tuition, 30-credit program
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: NECHEBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Accounting Analytics
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Georgia. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.