University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Department of Accountancy
Master of Science in Accountancy (MSA)
Overview
A 12-month, on-campus Master of Science in Accountancy open to graduates of any undergraduate field.
- Official program name
- Master of Science in Accountancy (MSA)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science in Accountancy · major: AccountancySource: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Subject focus
- Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Entry route
- Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- School
- Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Location
- Champaign, ILSource: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Subjects
- Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)
- Required credits
- Not verified
- Duration
- 12-month programSource: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed
Dedicated MSA, described as a 12-month on-campus program.
Degree title names accountancy; curriculum prepares for the CPA exam.
Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Formats offered
- On campusSource: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
- Internship
- Internship requirement: not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
Curriculum
Other
- STEM-designated; includes a CPA review course using Becker study material.Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
CPA-related information
- Not specified. Describes the program as preparing students for the CPA examSource: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026
A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements
Other professional recognition
Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.
Admissions
Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Domestic | $51,000 | (basis not stated by the institution)Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026 |
| International — International | $62,000 | (basis not stated by the institution)Source: giesbusiness.illinois.edu · verified October 30, 2026 |
Scholarships and funding
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Business-school accreditation
- AACSB — accreditedUnit: Gies College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026
Supplemental accounting accreditation
- AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Gies College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026
Sources and verification
- giesbusiness.illinois.edu/academics/graduate/accountancy — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
- giesbusiness.illinois.edu/msa — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Master of Professional Accountancy
Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.