Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

University of Iowa · Department of Accounting

Master of Accountancy, MAc

Master'sMAcDedicated degreeOn campusOpen entryAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

Nonthesis 30 s.h. Master of Accountancy with four subprograms. Completion time depends on undergraduate background; students without an accounting degree take additional undergraduate and MBA courses.

Official program name
Master of Accountancy, MAc
Awarded degree
Master of Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Iowa City, IA
Source: grad.admissions.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)Taxation — formal concentration / track (“Taxation subprogram”)Auditing and Assurance — formal concentration / track (“Financial accounting and auditing subprogram”)Accounting Analytics — formal concentration / track (“Business analytics subprogram”)Managerial and Management Accounting — formal concentration / track (“Managerial accounting subprogram”)
Required credits
30 s.h. beyond the Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
12 months for students entering with an undergraduate degree in accounting; typically three semesters (Iowa corporate accounting subprogram) or four semesters (non-accounting degree) (depends on undergraduate background)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Accountancy offered by the Department of Accounting.

Degree title names accountancy; nonthesis program with accounting subprograms.

Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: grad.admissions.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Students with a bachelor's degree in another area of business typically take 45-51 s.h. to complete the MAc; those with degrees outside business and no accounting courses typically take 57-60 s.h.
    Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. States the accounting program can qualify students to take the CPA examinationConditions stated: Statement is on the department page covering the BBA and MAcSource: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Bachelor's degree with a minimum GPA of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale, or an equivalent from another country
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose, 250-500 words
Source: catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 application fee ($100 for international students)
Source: grad.admissions.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Dec. 15 priority deadline, June 15 final deadline (March 15 for international students) · for Fall semester

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: grad.admissions.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    Oct. 15 priority deadline, Jan.1 final deadline (Oct. 15 for international students) · for Spring semester

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: grad.admissions.uiowa.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: Tippie College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Tippie College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu/tippie-business/accounting/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
  2. catalog.registrar.uiowa.edu/tippie-business/accounting/master-of-accountancy-mac/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 30, 2026
  3. grad.admissions.uiowa.edu/academics/accounting-mac — Official admissions page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Iowa. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.