Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

University of Nevada-Reno · Department of Accounting

Online Master of Accountancy

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOnlineOpen entryAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

An online Master of Accountancy with a 30-credit Core Track and a 36-credit Background Track, delivered in an asynchronous format with applications accepted year round.

Official program name
Online Master of Accountancy
Awarded degree
Master of Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Reno, NVFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)
Required credits
30-credit Core Track; 36-credit Background Track (includes Core Track courses)
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Why this program is listed

Dedicated online Master of Accountancy with two curriculum tracks.

Degree title names accountancy; Core Track courses include cost accounting, advanced taxation, auditing and financial reporting theory.

Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
Online
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Online delivery type not verified
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Asynchronous
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Attendance requirements as published

  • Live online sessions Optional

    No mandatory weekly live sessions for all students; faculty may schedule optional online sessions.

    Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Background Track adds Intermediate Accounting I and Federal Taxation before the core courses; the page says these credits are applicable toward state requirements for the CPA exam.
    Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Transfer pathways

  • Up to nine transfer credits (three courses) considered case by case.
    Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. Describes faculty as providing the advanced level of knowledge needed to prepare effectively for CPA certificationSource: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Work experience
RequiredBackground Track: non-accounting degree plus a minimum of two years of relevant work experience
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year bachelor's degree from an accredited institution, regardless of prior major
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Core Track: 2.75 GPA with a B average in accounting courses for AACSB-accredited degrees; 3.0 for other regionally accredited schools
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose of about one page
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Not requiredGRE or GMAT not required.
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Rolling

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online M.Acc. base tuition per credit$750per creditSource: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
All students — Core Track base tuition (24 credits at $750 and 6 credits at $990)$23,940entire programSource: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
All students — Background Track base tuition (30 credits at $750 and 6 credits at $990)$28,440entire programSource: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other published fees

Online learning special course fee
$34 per credit
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Technology fee
$18 per credit
Source: unr.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Nevada.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  3. unr.edu/business/degree-programs/accounting/online-macc — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. unr.edu/business/degree-programs/accounting/online-macc/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. unr.edu/business/degree-programs/accounting/online-macc/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  6. unr.edu/business/degree-programs/accounting/online-macc/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026
  7. unr.edu/degrees/majors/accounting — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Nevada-Reno. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.