Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

University of Rhode Island · College of Business

Master of Science in Accounting (M.S.A.)

Master'sMSDedicated degreeOn campusOpen entryAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A Master of Science in Accounting designed for students with a variety of educational backgrounds, with an accelerated bachelor's-to-master's path for URI accounting majors.

Official program name
Master of Science in Accounting (M.S.A.)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Accounting · major: Accounting
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Kingston, RI
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Why this program is listed

Dedicated M.S. in Accounting; campus program (application through the URI Graduate School).

Degree title names accounting; program of core and elective accounting courses.

Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Exceptional URI Accounting B.S. students may apply for the Accelerated Bachelor's to Master's M.S.A.
    Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Arkansas, California, Kansas, Michigan, Nebraska. States that the M.S.A. program does not meet the educational requirements for CPA licensure in these statesConditions stated: URI states it determined the curriculum meets the educational requirements in all other states and territories; the licensing board may impose additional requirementsSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. States that the M.S.A. will help students achieve the 150 credit hours required to sit for the CPA examSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredA four-year college degree is required; professional work experience is not required.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
RequiredGMAT or GRE score report within the last five years; the GMAT may be waived (basic rule: undergraduate GPA greater than 3.3 from URI or other AACSB-accredited institutions). TOEFL minimum 91 (iBT) or IELTS 6.5 if English is not the native language.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 30 (Fall enrollment); February 15 for international students (Fall only) · for Fall

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 15 (Spring enrollment) · for Spring

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Accounting programScope: URI states the accounting program is accredited by the AACSB and is the only separately accredited academic program in the College of BusinessStated by the school; not yet confirmed in the accreditor's directory.Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 27, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. web.uri.edu/business/academics/graduate/accounting/admission-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026
  3. web.uri.edu/business/academics/graduate/accounting/master-in-accounting/ — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Rhode Island. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.