Skip to content
AccountingDegrees
University of Scranton logo

University of Scranton · Accounting Department

Master of Accountancy (MAcc)

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOnlineOn campusOpen entry

Overview

A 30-credit Master of Accountancy offered on campus or fully online, with a bridge route for applicants from other fields and optional Forensic Accounting or Accounting Analytics specializations.

Official program name
Master of Accountancy (MAcc)
Awarded degree
Master of Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Scranton, PAFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)Forensic Accounting — formal concentration / track (“MAcc: Forensic Accounting”)Accounting Analytics — formal concentration / track (“MAcc: Accounting Analytics”)
Tracks / concentrations
Forensic Accounting · Accounting Analytics
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Required credits
30-credit, 10-course curriculum
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
in as few as 12-18 months (two 7-week sessions each fall, spring and summer; students needing bridge courses typically take 18 to 22 months)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Accountancy offered on campus and 100% online.

Degree title names accountancy; the 30-credit curriculum covers auditing, taxation, accounting ethics and financial management, with Forensic Accounting and Accounting Analytics specializations.

Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
Online · On campus
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
No mandatory campus visits
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Class schedule (online option)
Not verified
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Students who need bridge courses (ACC 505, ACC 506 and ACC 507) typically complete the program within 18 to 22 months.
    Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. States that the program fulfills the 150-credit hour requirement for CPA eligibilityConditions stated: Page answers a question about students who already have a bachelor's in accountingSource: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. Describes the program as specifically designed to prepare students for CPA licensureSource: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.
  • Other professional recognition. The page says the program includes access to CPA exam preparation at a reduced rate through a partnership with UWorld.Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Prerequisite courses
RequiredApplicants with a bachelor's in business or another field apply via the MAcc Bridge Program, which offers prerequisite courses in accounting and finance.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Work experience
Not requiredPrevious work experience is not required.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee for domestic students.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
Not requiredNo GRE or GMAT required.
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
GRE General Test
Not required
Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 15; September 15 (Online H2) · for Fall (domestic)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 15; February 15 (Online H2) · for Spring (domestic)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicants

    June 1 · for Fall (international)

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — MAcc, per credit$895per creditCalculated tuition$26,850 = 30 credits × $895 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026
All students — MAcc, full 30-credit program$26,850entire programSource: gradadmissions.scranton.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: The Arthur J. Kania School of ManagementListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Pennsylvania.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. gradadmissions.scranton.edu/programs/master-of-accountancy/index.shtml — Official admissions page, verified October 30, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  4. scranton.edu/academics/ksom/accounting/programs/accounting-major.shtml — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Scranton. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.