Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

University of South Carolina-Columbia · School of Accounting

Master of Accountancy

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOn campusOpen entryAccounting accreditation on record

Overview

A Master of Accountancy completed in as little as 10 months with a 30-credit program fee basis, tracks in taxation and business measurement and assurance, and a required simulated CPA exam.

Official program name
Master of Accountancy
Awarded degree
Master of Accountancy · major: Accountancy
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
Open to both accounting and non-accounting graduatesThe program admits applicants from any field; prerequisite or foundation courses may apply, as published.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Columbia, SC
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree (“Accountancy”)Taxation — formal concentration / track (“Taxation track”)Accounting Information Systems — formal concentration / track (“Information Systems and Control track”)
Tracks / concentrations
Taxation (TAX) track · Business Measurement and Assurance (BMA) track
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Required credits
Total credit hours for program (w/o prerequisite courses) 30
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
In just 10 months
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated Master of Accountancy offered on campus.

Degree title names accountancy; tracks in taxation and business measurement and assurance.

Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Each track has seven required core courses (21 hours) and three elective courses (9 hours).
    Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • Students without an accounting or business degree complete prerequisite courses before entering or in addition to MACC courses.
    Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Not specified. Describes the program as including a required simulated CPA exam and CPA study supportSource: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.00 upper-level accounting/major GPA with no more than two grades below a B in these courses.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredResume and statement of purpose included in the online application.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Interview
RequiredQualified students receive an invitation to interview, on campus or by video.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
RequiredWaivers are provided case by case after review by the admissions committee.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants not graduating from a U.S. institution or without 3 years of study in the United States; TOEFL or IELTS within two years.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    May 1, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 25, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — S.C. resident, MACC program fee$600per creditCalculated tuition$18,000 = 30 credits × $600 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — Non-resident, MACC program fee$1,031per creditCalculated tuition$30,930 = 30 credits × $1,031 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide
  • Graduate assistant positions Assistantship

    Per-semester stipend of $2,600 and an award reducing non-resident program fee rates to the South Carolina resident rate

    Eligibility: Based on academic performance, community service, extracurricular activities, GMAT scores and other factors

    Duties: Working with faculty as teaching assistants, 10 hours per week

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: Darla Moore School of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: School of AccountingScope: Specialized AACSB accreditation for accountingStated by the school; not yet confirmed in the accreditor's directory.Source: sc.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • AACSB Accounting — accreditedUnit: Darla Moore School of BusinessListed as: AACSB separate accounting accreditation (as listed: Business + Accounting)Confirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of South Carolina-Columbia. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.