Skip to content
AccountingDegrees
University of Wyoming logo

University of Wyoming · Department of Accounting and Finance

Accounting Master of Science (M.S.)

Master'sMSDedicated degreeOn campusOnlineAccounting graduates

Overview

A 30-credit Master of Science in Accounting offered on the Laramie campus and 100% online, with start terms in fall, spring and summer and no GRE or GMAT requirement stated on the program page.

Official program name
Accounting Master of Science (M.S.)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Accounting · major: Accounting
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Subject focus
Dedicated degreeThe degree title itself is in accounting, accountancy, taxation or another accounting subject (for example a Master of Accountancy).
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Entry route
For graduates with an accounting backgroundThe program expects a prior accounting degree or the accounting prerequisite courses already completed.
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
School
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Location
Laramie, WYFor the online option this is where the school is located — not a residency requirement, and not a guarantee that you may enroll from your state.
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Subjects
Accounting — core of the degree
Required credits
30 required credit hours
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Duration
1-2 years (full-time or part-time enrollment)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Why this program is listed

Dedicated M.S. in Accounting offered on campus and online.

Degree title names accounting; the page describes it as a master's degree in accounting focused on CPA exam preparation.

Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We list associate, bachelor's, master's and research-doctorate programs in accounting, accountancy and taxation at institutionally accredited US schools — degrees in the subject and formal accounting majors or concentrations, never certificates or degrees with a single accounting course. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Formats, online delivery, campus visits, internships and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the school states it.
Formats offered
On campus · Online
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Online delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.All coursework is online and the institution states no required campus attendance for the online option.
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Campus visits (online option)
Campus visits: not verified
Class schedule (online option)
Asynchronous
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Internship
Internship requirement: not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Attendance requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not required

    The page says no required live-streaming or on-site proctored exams.

    Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Live online sessions Not required

    The page says no required live-streaming.

    Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Curriculum

Foundation and prerequisite courses

  • No prerequisite courses are required before an admission decision; applicants who do not show proficiency in intermediate accounting, cost accounting, tax and auditing may receive conditional admission terms.
    Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

CPA-related information

Academic qualification, CPA exam eligibility and CPA licensure are three different things, and requirements differ by state board, pathway, applicant background and date. These are statements this school publishes, shown with the jurisdiction they name.
  • Wyoming. States the program meets CPA educational requirements for the state of WyomingSource: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
  • Not specified. Says the master's degree satisfies the education requirements to sit for the CPA exam in most statesSource: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

A school describing a program as supporting CPA preparation does not establish eligibility for every applicant in every state, and this directory does not label any program “CPA eligible”. Check your own state board's current rules before you enrol. Accounting degrees and CPA requirements

Other professional recognition

Other credentials and outcomes appear only where the school itself publishes them, with their date.

Other professional recognition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

This directory does not publish pass rates, placement rates or salaries for any program. Occupational statistics for accountants are in the guides, labelled as statistics for the occupation, not outcomes of a school.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the school states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Technical preparation

Prerequisite courses
RecommendedProficiency in intermediate accounting I and II, cost accounting, tax and audit, shown with a grade of B or better or professional evidence
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited university or college
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredOne-page statement of purpose
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Recommendation letters
Optional1 letters — Letters of recommendation optional (minimum 1, maximum 3)
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional resume; a minimum of 2 years of professional work experience is preferred
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Interview
RequiredVirtual interview with the program office
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredApplication is free
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Tests

GMAT
OptionalGRE or GMAT optional; may be considered to offset deficiencies in other parts of the application
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
GRE General Test
OptionalGRE or GMAT optional; may be considered to offset deficiencies in other parts of the application
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the school printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Summer

    The school does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — College of Business graduate online programs (non-MBA)From the school's online tuition table$595per credit · FY27Calculated tuition$17,850 = 30 credits × $595 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
In-state — MS Accounting, main campus, residentFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$595per credit · FY27Calculated tuition$17,850 = 30 credits × $595 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026
Out-of-state — MS Accounting, main campus, non-residentFrom the school-wide rate table for this level$833per credit · FY27Calculated tuition$24,990 = 30 credits × $833 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Other published fees

Distance mandatory fees
$14 per credit
Source: uwyo.edu · verified October 30, 2026

Scholarships and funding

Awards published by the school for this program or for its level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; service scholarships require government service after graduation. Doctoral funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation

Three different things, kept apart: institutional accreditation of the school, business-school accreditation of the unit, and supplemental accounting accreditation. One never implies another.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Business-school accreditation

  • AACSB — accreditedUnit: College of BusinessListed as: AACSB business accreditationConfirmed in the accreditor's own directory.Source: aacsb.edu · verified October 26, 2026

Supplemental accounting accreditation

No separate accounting accreditation is on record. AACSB business accreditation does not mean the accounting program holds AACSB accounting accreditation.

State authorization (online students)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Wyoming.

International applicants

Not verified for the online option.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages and directories below. Last verified October 26, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. AACSB accredited institutions (accreditor directory) — Accreditor directory, verified October 26, 2026
  3. uwyo.edu/acct-fin/graduate/faqs-ms-in-accounting.html — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  4. uwyo.edu/acct-fin/graduate/requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026
  5. uwyo.edu/fsbo/student-financial-services/tuition-and-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 30, 2026
  6. uwyo.edu/uw/degree-programs/accounting-ms.html — Official program page, verified October 30, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and focus. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Asbury University

Accounting, MSAC

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science
Format: Fully online
Location: Wilmore, KYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: in as little as 18 months or at your own pace (conditional minimum; own pace also allowed) · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOC
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Florida

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus
Location: Gainesville, FL
Attendance: Campus-based study
Duration: Summer/Fall start – 1 year; Spring start – 16 months (Depends on preparatory courses completed before enrolling)
Tuition: $18,106 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — Florida resident tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Auditing and Assurance · Taxation
View program

University of Georgia

Master of Professional Accountancy

Master'sMPAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Athens, GASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: One Year, Flexible Completion Timelines (printed as program duration; flexible completion timelines are offered) · 36 credits
Tuition: $694 per credit · All students — MPAcc online, in-state and out-of-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Accounting Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Wyoming. Information is collected from official pages and directories and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the school.