Skip to content
AccountingDegrees

Online Master's in Accounting

Master's degrees (MAcc, MSA, MS in Accounting, MPAcc, MST and MBAs with a formal accounting specialization) with entry route for accounting and non-accounting graduates, admission requirements, tests, tuition basis and study format. This page lists only programs with a verified online option, and states what each one requires in person.

143 programs · page 7 of 8

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Attendance, as published

Online coursework does not always mean no travel. We count only what each program's official page states; everything else stays "not verified". An online application or a few remote electives do not make a degree online.

8

state no mandatory campus visits

3

require campus visits or residencies

0

require an internship or practicum

132

campus-visit policy not verified

No campus visits (8)Asynchronous (13)Live sessions (11)With campus visits (3)First-year entryDegree completion

University of Nevada-Reno

Online Master of Accountancy

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOpen entryMaster of Accountancy
Format: Online · Asynchronous
Location: Reno, NVSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $750 per credit · All students — Online M.Acc. base tuition per credit
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Accreditation: Institution accredited: NWCCUBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of New Mexico-Main Campus

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Campus · Online · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Albuquerque, NMSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Flexible; 18 months if attending full-time (full-time; length depends on classes taken per semester) · 30 credits
Tuition: $813.06 per credit · All students — Master of Accounting, flat rate · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program
Format: Campus · Online + campus visits
Location: Chapel Hill, NCSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Campus visits required
Duration: online: as little as 12 months or up to 36 months (online format; maximum time varies by pathway)
Tuition: $1,446.36 per credit · All students — Online format · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Auditing and Assurance
View program
Format: Campus · Online · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Greensboro, NCSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: $16,500 entire program · In-state — Accounting majors, online, in-state; 30 credit hours part-time for 2 years, tuition and fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Auditing and Assurance
View program

University of North Dakota

Accelerated Accountancy (B.Acc./M.Acc.)

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccelerated BS + MSMaster of Accountancy
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Estimated 5 years · 138 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Accounting Information Systems · Accounting Analytics
View program

University of North Dakota

Master of Accountancy: Fundamentals Track for Non-Accounting Majors

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduatesMaster of Accountancy
Format: Fully online · Part-time
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Estimated 20 months; as few as 20 months (part-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of North Dakota

Master of Accountancy: Professional Track for Accounting Majors

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Accountancy
Format: Campus · Fully online · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Estimated 12-18 months · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Accounting Information Systems · Accounting Analytics
View program

University of North Florida

Master of Accountancy

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOpen entry
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Jacksonville, FLSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: 12-24 Months; three semesters for applicants with a recent relevant degree (three semesters applies to those with a recent accounting degree from an AACSB-accredited institution)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation
View program
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Jacksonville, FLSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: 12-20 months; complete in as little as 1 year (conditional minimum of one year)
Tuition: $14,805.90 (basis not stated by the institution) · In-state — In State Tuition and Fees
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Accounting Analytics · Accounting Information Systems
View program
University of Scranton logo

University of Scranton

Master of Accountancy (MAcc)

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOpen entryMaster of Accountancy
Format: Campus · Fully online · Part-time
Location: Scranton, PASchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: in as few as 12-18 months (two 7-week sessions each fall, spring and summer; students needing bridge courses typically take 18 to 22 months) · 30 credits
Tuition: $895 per credit · All students — MAcc, per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: MSCHEBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting · Forensic Accounting · Accounting Analytics
View program

University of South Alabama

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeOpen entry
Format: Fully online · Mixed (live + self-paced)
Location: Mobile, ALSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: as little as one year (conditional minimum printed on the program page) · 30 credits
Tuition: $520 per credit · In-state — Graduate, Mitchell College of Business, in-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: SACSCOCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Forensic Accounting
View program
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Vermillion, SDSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of South Dakota

Master of Accountancy (MAcc)

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeMaster of Accountancy
Format: Campus · Fully online
Location: Vermillion, SDSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $495.70 per credit · All students — Graduate, online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting · Accounting Analytics
View program

University of Southern Indiana

MBA — Accounting Concentration

Master'sMBAConcentrationMaster of Business Administration
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Evansville, INSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of the Southwest

MBA in Accounting — Accounting Concentration

Master'sMBAConcentrationOpen entryMaster of Business Administration
Format: Fully online
Location: Hobbs, NMSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $675 per credit · All students — Master's student · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: IACBE
Subjects: Accounting
View program

University of Toledo

Master of Science in Accountancy (M.S.A.)

Master'sMSADedicated degreeOpen entryMaster of Science in Accountancy
Format: Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Toledo, OHSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: As little as nine months with full-time study (full-time study) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting
View program
University of Wyoming logo

University of Wyoming

Accounting Master of Science (M.S.)

Master'sMSDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Science in Accounting
Format: Campus · Fully online · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
Location: Laramie, WYSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: 1-2 years (full-time or part-time enrollment) · 30 credits
Tuition: $595 per credit · All students — College of Business graduate online programs (non-MBA) · FY27
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: AACSB
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Utah State University

Master of Accounting (MAcc)

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduatesMaster of Accounting
Format: Campus · Online · Synchronous (live sessions)
Location: Logan, UTSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: $29,430 entire program · All students — Virtual Delivery Option (all courses) · 2025-26
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: NWCCUBusiness school: AACSBAccounting accreditation: AACSB Accounting
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation
View program

Walsh College

Master of Science in Accountancy

Master'sMSDedicated degreeNon-accounting graduates
Format: Campus · Online
Location: Troy, MISchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Online attendance requirements not verified
Duration: As little as 1 year (conditions not stated on the page)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: HLCBusiness school: ACBSP
Subjects: Accounting
View program

Western Governors University

Master of Accounting

Master'sMAccDedicated degreeAccounting graduates
Format: Fully online
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location, not a residency requirement
Attendance: Fully online as published (no separate campus-visit statement)
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: $4,850 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term (charged per term rather than per credit)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Accreditation: Institution accredited: NWCCU
Subjects: Accounting · Taxation · Managerial and Management Accounting · Auditing and Assurance
View program

Tuition and admissions at a glance

110

schools with a verified online master's program

$250–$2,163

published per-credit tuition across 56 online programs

22 of 23

online master's programs with a published GRE policy do not require the GRE

Ranges mix in-state, out-of-state and all-student rates and exclude fees; they are not a cost estimate, and online students do not all pay the same rate. Compare programs on the same basis in Compare.

Online degree questions

Are online degrees different from campus degrees?

Usually the awarded degree is the same; what differs is how you attend. Check each profile for campus visits, residencies, in-person labs, proctored exams and live-session times — we list them separately and only as published.

Does “online” mean I never have to visit campus?

Not necessarily. A program is shown as having no mandatory campus visits only when its official page says so. Otherwise the requirement is “not verified”, which is not the same as “none”.

Can I enroll from any state?

Online programs are listed under the school's location, which is not a residency requirement. Schools publish state-authorization rules separately; some cannot enroll residents of every state, and international eligibility varies. Check the school's disclosure for your state.

Can I start an online bachelor's without college credits?

Some programs admit first-year students; others are degree-completion programs that require prior credits or an associate degree. Each profile shows the entry route as the school states it. A completion program's remaining time is not the length of the whole bachelor's degree.

Is there an online PhD in accounting?

Only where the university itself presents the doctorate as online. A general online-learning page is not evidence of an online PhD, and doctoral programs commonly require residencies or an in-person defense. We do not list an online PhD without that evidence.

Does an online accounting degree make me eligible to become a CPA?

A degree, eligibility to sit the CPA Exam and a CPA license are three separate things, and the requirements are set by each state board of accountancy. Some programs publish statements about how their coursework relates to a jurisdiction; we show those with the jurisdiction and source, never as a promise. See the guides on accounting degrees and CPA requirements.